The supported shipping service options for an eBay marketplace are grouped into several categories. Shipping service categories include:

  • Economy
  • Standard
  • Expedited
  • One-Day Service
  • Other

A shipping service option is classified into a category based on how the shipping time range provided by the service aligns with the shipping time range defined for the category.

Note: In the eBay Seller Information Center, shipping service categories are referred to as shipping service "levels." This User's Guide will use the term "category" to align with the terminology used in the API.

You cannot specify a ShippingCategory in the Add/Revise/Relist family of API calls, as eBay does this categorization behind the scenes. ShippingCategory is read-only data that is returned in the ShippingServiceDetails and ShippingCategoryDetails container of GeteBayDetails. One possible use of ShippingCategoryDetails is to sort shipping services by ShippingCategory and then populate a pick list.